I was born and raised on the Gulf Coast of Texas where the cattle have a little more ear (Brahman) and almost everyone has a little Cajun in them.  My family often spent Sunday afternoons crawfishing, crabbing or we bought fresh shrimp right off the boats in the bay.  This is a family favorite I’d thought I’d share on this Meaty Monday-Etouffee.  We prefer it with crawfish but you can use shrimp or even chicken if the thought of crawfish scares you.

Ingredients

1-2 lbs of shrimp or crawfish.

1 stick of butter per lb of shrimp or crawfish

1 bunch of finely chopped green onion

1 diced bell pepper

1 bunch of chopped parsley

1 sm can of tomato sauce

1 can if italian diced tomatoes

Several tablespoons of flour

Cayenne pepper to taste.

I got these crawfish at Brookshire’s but I have seen them at Wal-Mart near here too.  I have bought the already seasoned ones too but I thought they seemed salty.  You can use pre-cooked shrimp or crawfish too but fresh is best!!

In a Skillet or pot melt the butter. Add gr. onion, bell pepper and parsley (note:  I use kitchen shears to cut up the parsley-remove larger stems) Saute veggies until done. Add shrimp or crawfish.

Cook about 5 minutes until the shrimp/crawfish are done.  Add Cayenne pepper to taste-remember a little goes a long way!  I sometimes use a little Lawry’s seasoned salt or Cavender’s at this point too.

Stir in tomato sauce and italian diced tomatoes-don’t drain.

Sprinkle mixture with 1 tablespoon of flour at a time and stir until it reaches desired thickness.  For me, usually 2 or 3 is enough.  Taste and see if it is hot enough for you…if not add some more cayenne-be careful!!

Yum!  Looks and smells wonderful.  Serve over rice- I just use the easy and quick boil in a bag kind.  I like to serve with crusty french bread slices topped with butter and garlic & toasted in the oven.

Enjoy!

