Crock Pot Pork Chops sounds a little like a chant/cheer/battle cry from the University of Kansas:  Rock Chalk Jayhawk!-which I have to admit I have no idea what that means.  However, I do know Pork Chops!  This recipe is one I sorta made up this weekend when I was avoiding a trip to the store which is 25+ miles away one-way.  I love using the www.allrecipes.com recipe finder where you can enter ingredients you have and want to use and ingredients you don’t want to use.  I did this with Pork Chops and Apples and found some recipes that I combined to make this dish.  The Chickenman said it was a keeper and to be sure and write it down so we could have it again.  So…here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

Pork chops I used two thick-cut bone-in chops like these, but just use what you need for your family: 

Apples-I used 2 that looked like this.  I peeled, quartered and cored them. New potatoes.  I used 5 or 6 three-bit sized potatoes and left them whole with the peel on.1 tablespoon of Kitchen bouquet

Fiesta Chicken Rub for seasoning Pork Chops1 can of cream of mushroom soup.  I use low sodium.1 packet of Dry Onion Soup Mix2 tablespoons of brown sugar.  Rinse the Pork Chops and season them with several generous shakes of the Chicken Rub on both sides.  Set aside.  In your crock pot mix dry onion soup mix with the can of cream of mushroom soup, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of Kitchen bouquet and 1 1/2 cups of hot tap water.  I use a wire whisk to get it all blended good.  Go ahead and turn it on low and add the potatoes and the apples and give it a light stir to mix.  The liquid should just about cover the apples and potatoes, if it doesn’t add more water.

Heat a heavy skillet on the stove top to medium high.  I use one like this to get the pretty grill marks:  But one without grill ridges will work fine too.  I gave mine a quick spray of cooking oil when it got pretty hot and quickly seared the pork chops on both sides.  About  2 minutes each side.  Then place the pork chops on top of the crock pot mixture.  Don’t press them in, just gently lay them on top. Cover and cook on low for about 6 hours.

Remove Pork Chops and place on serving plate.  Remove and separate apples and potatoes.  Use a potato masher or a fork to mash apples.  Cut the  potatoes in halves or quarters and place in separate serving dishes.  Pour gravy from the crock pot into a gravy boat or other serving dish.

We topped our Pork Chops with the mashed apples and ladled gravy on our  potatoes and served it with a fresh green tossed salad.  YUM!

The pork chops are so juicy and tender you won’t need a knife!

Happy Meaty Monday!

